Nominations are Open for the 2016 MCA Awards of Excellence

Each year the Minnesota Construction Association (MCA) recognizes construction projects and members that make substantial contributions to the community and the Association through the Awards of Excellence.  
All Project Excellence Award nominations are due no later than December 7, 2015 - Early bird entry fee is $225 if submitted on or before November 13, 2015!



Project Excellence Awards


Nominations will be accepted from MCA Members in good standing during 2015 and 2016. Contractors, Subcontractors/Specialty Contractors andConstruction Services Providers are invited to nominate a project completed between 2013 and 2015. The project must be substantially completed when nominated. Early bird entry fee is $225 if submitted on or before November 13, 2015. Entry fee is $300 if submitted November 14 - December 7, 2015.

Nominations can be submitted for a project in each of the following categories:

  • New Project Total Value Under $10,000,000. Excludes design fees, development costs and land.
  • New Project Total Value Over $10,000,000. Excludes design fees, development costs and land. 
  • Renovation, Expansion or Tenant Improvement Project. Includes any modifications to an existing structure or building. 
  • Government Construction Project. Includes public schools, local, state and federally funded projects. 
  • Green/Sustainable Project. Conditions to be considered will include sites issues, water efficiency, energy reduction & effects on the atmosphere, materials & resources use, reuse of onsite materials & reduction including building reuse, indoor environment efficient use of utilities and green building cost benefit to the owner. 
  • Research, Innovation or Technology. Construction "means and methods", processes or studies that advance or improve the construction industry.
  • New for 2016 - Subcontractor/Specialty Contractor Project. Includes subcontractor or specialty work of any size or cost.

To nominate a project for an award, please complete theProject Excellence Award nomination form by December 7, 2015.

New for 2016 - a separate Payment Form must be submitted along with your nomination form (you may submit a single payment form for all nominations entries).




Member of the Year Nominations


Please consider nominating a fellow MCA member for the Member of the Year award!  We are looking for a member candidate who meets the following criteria:

  1. Demonstrates a commitment to MCA and its growth
  2. Is active in MCA
  3. Has contributed to the success of ongoing or recently completed construction projects

Nominations must include a brief statement explaining why you believe this member deserves special recognition.  Please click here to complete the online nomination form by Friday, December 4.




MCA Choice Award


The MCA Awards of Excellence committee is always searching for the best and most challenging projects in the Midwest to consider for the MCA Choice Award. The MCA Choice Award is unique as it is not a nominated award or a people's choice award. A panel of MCA members seek out challenging projects completed by MCA member companies and select the project they feel is the most deserving.

The award is presented to a project that was constructed through:

  • Resourceful blending or construction techniques and professionals
  • Evokes positive ideals through community service or historical preservation
  • Showcases a truly professional team effort
  • Spearheaded by strong leadership
  • Unique or visionary in design, stands out aesthetically
  • Achieved through an innovative blending of progressive business and financial methods
  • Involved creative use of materials
  • Utilized public and private involvement and cooperation
  • Completed safely with minimal injuries

The panel is currently considering candidate projects for the MCA Choice Award to be announced at the 2016 Awards of Excellence.  If you are aware of a project that might qualify for the MCA Choice Award (even if you have not been involved in the project), please email by October 23, 2015 with the following information:

  • Project name and location
  • The Developer, Builder, and/or Owner
  • Your Contact Information (including phone and email)




Register Today!

Reservations are required if you plan to attend the Gala on Wednesday, January 27, 2016 from 6:00-9:00 PM at the Minneapolis Golf Club. 
You may reserve a table for 8 persons for $680 or a half-table for 4 persons for $340 (members or non-members).  Individual reservations are $85 for MCA members or $95 for non-members.    
Registration deadline is January 13, 2016.  All attendees must register in advance; onsite registration will not be available for this event.

Online Registration 
Printer-Friendly Registration




Sponsorship Opportunities

You can help make the Annual Awards Gala a night to remember by becoming a sponsor!

Sponsorship opportunities include:

  • Dinner Sponsor - $450
  • Wine Sponsor - $300
  • Post-Gala Cocktail Party Sponsor - $250
  • Dessert Sponsor - $200
  • Reception Sponsor - $150
  • Signage Sponsor - In-Kind

To become a sponsor, please complete the Awards Sponsorship Form and return it by January 8, 2016.

Online Sponsorship Form 
Printer-Friendly Sponsorship Form