Contractor of the Year | Tom Miller | Advanced Masonry Restoration

Each year the MC&MCA recognizes a person or company as MC&MCA’s Contractor of the Year. The board and general membership would like to congratulate tthe Contractor of the Year for his work and leadership over the years in the concrete and masonry industry and for their involvement in the MC&MCA.

Our Contractor of the Year award this year goes to: Tom Miller. 

Since 1988 Tom has led Advanced Masonry Restoration as a Senior Project Manager. 

He oversees the implementation of restoration services for historical and contemporary buildings in the Twin Cities and outstate regions of Minnesota. 

Prior to this position, Tom spent 10 years working as a field laborer, eventually leading crews as a Foreman. 

This experience, coupled with formal education and training at the University of MN Duluth, enhances his ability to view projects from multiple perspectives and foresee the implications of a jobsite. 

A few of Tom’s most notable projects have been the Soo Line City Apartments, Fort Snelling, Split Rock Lighthouse, and the Mill City Museum. 

Tom’s involvement with this industry extends beyond brick, mortar, and blueprints. 

For the past 10 years, Tom has been a proud member of the MC&MCA executive board, marketing committee, and president!

Tom takes the time to learn the history and legacies of the buildings in repair to ensure a careful preservation of their history. Aptly, he has been a member of the Minnesota Historical Society for 10 years. He loves Minnesota History! 

Organizations such as these have reinforced Tom’s commitment to a collaborative effort. On and off a jobsite, he encourages teamwork, consistent communication, and a little humor between staff, contractors, owners, architects, and vendors.

In his free time, Tom enjoys spending time at his Northern Minnesota cabin with his wife and children, going fishing, developing his own recipes for sausage, cooking, and gardening.

L to R: Patrick Vogt, President | Tom Miller, Contractor of the Year | Dan Francois, Past President

L to R:  Tom Miller, Contractor of the Year | Patrick Vogt, President | Larry Thompson, Associate of the Year