2018 Excellence in Concrete & Masonry Design and Construction Awards Banquet

This year’s banquet was held on February 17 at the Minneapolis Marriott Northwest with 130 attendees.

Leadership Awards were presented at the banquet with Michael Lapensky of Twin City Tile and Marble Company winning Contractor of the Year and John Thomas of TCC Materials winning Associate of the Year. Christa Seaberg, formerly of JE Dunn Construction, was presented the Presidential Leadership Award.

Next year’s banquet will be held on Saturday, February 16, 2019—mark your calendars!

Click here to view the winners!

Click here to view all submissions!

Photo above: Banquet attendees enjoying the social hour & perusing silent auction items.

Photo above: Keynote speaker Larry Millett, architectural historian, author & journalist.

Photo above: MC&MCA President Dan Francois of Kraus-Anderson Construction Company speaking to the crowd.

Special thanks to banquet sponsorship & silent auction contributors:
Advanced Masonry Restoration
American Artstone Company
American Engineering Testing
B & D Associates, Inc.
Bricklayers & Allied Craftworkers Local Union 1 MN/ND
Brock White Company
Bulach Custom Rock, LLC
Carciofini Company
Cemstone Products Company
Cobb, Strecker, Dunphy, & Zimmermann, Inc.
Construction Midwest, Inc.
Dale Studios
Donald R. Frantz Concrete Construction, LLC
Esch Construction Supply Inc.
Hollenback & Nelson, Inc.
Kraus-Anderson Construction Company
Northland Concrete & Masonry Company
Stoneworks Architectural Precast/Cast Stone
TCC Materials
Twin City Tile and Marble Company

Photo above: Judges Bob Mack and Mandi Tauferner say a few words about the experience of judging projects

Special thanks to the Excellence Awards Judges:
Kelley Casey, LEED AP ǀ Cuningham Group Architects
Joshua Donato ǀ Collage Architects
Robert Huntley ǀ St. Paul Public Schools
Douglas Kahl, AIA ǀ Wold Architects & Engineers
Gregory Kinney ǀ WAI Continuum, an LJA Company
Brian Larson, AIA ǀ Pope Architects
Robert Mack, FAIA, FAPT ǀ MacDonald and Mack Architects, LTD.
Gail Manning, RA, CBO ǀ Hennepin County
Mark McPherson, CSI, CDT ǀ Mortenson Construction
Randy Moe, AIA, CID, LEED AP ǀ Bentz/Thompson/Rietow
Russell Peterson, ALA, CID ǀ Clever Architecture
William St. Germaine ǀ WD Partners
Mark Swanson, AIA, LEED AP BD+C, NCARB ǀ International Masonry Institute
Mandi Tauferner, AIA, ARA, CID, LEED AP ǀ Kodet Architectural Group